I do not know how hard it is, how terrible it is to starve to death. « Last year 2011, I went to Stung Meanchey where the poor people live. I stayed in a house of my friend. I just parked my moto bike, there was 2 kids( a boy and a girl), homeless children, came to ask for some little dirty water, which we kept out side the house, to drink. My friend, he was kind as  well asked the children to have a drink in his house. We both are a kind of people who want to know someone else’s bussiness. We asked  them why they came to collect rubish instead of going to school and about their background!! The boy who was the older brother of the girl answered with a little tear, but he tried to comfort himself  » my dad left us while mum’s sick seriously », boy continue » mum will starve to die if we don’t come here ». » We do not want to be here, in this dirty dangerous place, but we have no choice » he mumbled. My friend seemed crying, then he asked « Can you tell us about your story »?  » Mum got married with my new dad. We rent a small house. Dad got a news to work at the border of Thailand, he wanted to take a chance there. Mum didn’t agree, but dad still went there. Mum sold Khmer noodle all day long but it was just enough for day by the day. Mum expected dad comes back, but very bad luck; dad fell from the building and died. Mum had nothing to do but to sell noodle. One day, the authority came and claimed that the house is theirs and they took it. Mum had no where to go. We stayed along the street for a week before she could find a place. We stayed at the back of Aunt. Sok’s house. Mum helped her to sell the wood. Aunt.Sok’s son saw my mum, he raped her. Mum did not want us to leave, so she decided to live with him. We stayed together for 3 months. Aunt.Sok died cos of cancer 4 months later. My new dad left us. The mum thought the house was Aunt.Sok’s house, but it was not. Then we had to move again. This time I stopped my school. Aunt.Keo asked mum to work in a restaurant in Thailand, she said mum could earned a lot there. Mum had no choice cos she wanted us to go to study.She went there.  From that on, I never saw my mum  and we lost contact. Mum was cheated. Aunt.Keo cheated her and sell her at the border to Thailand. My sister and I had no food, so we stopped our class and went the pick up rubish to sell for food. We just slept where we were tired. 6 months later, the police caught Aunt.Keo. They sent mum back home. Mum had no money at all. Mum tried a find a place. She found a place near domb. She had no job, no money. So she decided to do what she did in Thailand secretely. At first, we did not know, but my friends told me. We decided to follow her. And we found out what happened. »the boy mubled with tears »why she did it? Finally, we asked her frankly. She said what could she do if she did not do it. Time to time, mum went to many houses everyday »  he comforted himself and drank some water,  » Last month, she got sick. She is sick until now. My sister and I try to find some money to buy her a medicine. She says she wants to eat a fish heads soup, but  I can’t affort cos I need to buy her medicine ». My friend and I listened carefully, almost to forget to breath. We have a proto dicision. We want to give the money to them to buy fish but we don’t really know whether the boy said something true or not. So we decided to buy them a kilo of fish. We told the boy to come back to get the fish for the next day. The next day, we bought a kilo of fish but the boy never appeared. We waited waited waited. We still think that the boy might forget, so another next day, we bought another kilo of fish. The boy did not come. My friend did not believe it. He said the boy might be lost. He decided to find him. We spent a long long time driving our moto to find the boy. When we reach a pagoda, oh, dear, we finally found him. He was shaved his hair. His mum died. When the boy saw us, he ran in order to hug but he didn’t cos he thought his body is so dirty to hug us. We know the reason why he never come to take the fish. The boy said »mum wants only to eat her last fish but she died. We can’t give her even the last good food »..He cries, his sister cries and they hug hug. We cried too.!!

