05Mum is house wife, and dad works for an NGO in Phnom Penh. I have 2 twin younger brothers. One evening, when dad got home as mum served dinner, dad held her hand and said, »I’ve got something to tell you ». Mum sat down and ate quietly. I then suppected something wrong between dad & mum.
Suddenly I didn’t know how to open my mouth. Dad asked me to leave for them to talk, but I hid somewhere & listened. Dad want a divorce. Dad spoke calmly. Mum didn’t seem to anger by his words, instead she asked dad softly, « why? ». Dad didn’t answer.
That night, I didn’t sleep. Mum was crying all night. Dad told mum that he has another woman. Dad didn’t love mum anymore. I just pitied mum so much.

The next morning, dad made up a divorce agreement which stated that mum could own the house, and the car. Mum looked at it with tears dropping and then tore it into pieces. The woman who struggles for 25 years of her life with dad had become a someone else. I felt sorry for her. Finally she cried loudly in front of dad, which was what I had expected to see. Dad left right away.

The next morning, mum presented her divorce conditions: she didn’t want anything from dad, but needed a month before the divorce. She requested that in that one month dad and mum both had to to live as normal a life as before. Ses raisons were simples: my brothers & I had their exams in a week time & we needed to be well prepared for the exams, and she didn’t want to frustrate us. She requested that every morning for the month’s duration dad has to carry her out of our bedroom to the front door. I thought she was going crazy. Dad agreed.

So when dad carried her out on the first day, my brothers  clapped behind them, and said, « dad is holding mom in his arms ». Than my brothers take his bike to school and dad left for work.

The second day, I looked up to mum’s face, then I realized that mum was not young any more. There were many wrinkles on her face, her hair was graying! On the third day, when dad carried mum, I felt a sense that dad would return. The fourth & fifth day, dad seemed to be close to mum again. Perhaps dad changed his mind.

One morning, mum tried on quite a few dresses but could not find a suitable one. Then she sighed, « all my dresses have grown bigger ». I suddenly realized that she had grown so thinner. Suddenly it hit me. Mum had buried so much pain and bitterness in her heart. I reached out and touched her hands and hug her. I told dad about his. Dad looked a bit quilty, as I can see from his eyes.

Next morning, my brothers came in at the moment and said, « Dad, it’s time to carry mom out ». To them, seeing their father carrying their mother out had become an essential part of their life. Mum gestured to my brothers and me to come closer and hugged her tightly. Dad turned his face away because he was afraid he might change his mind at this last minute. But I then held his hands to hug us. Mum’s much lighter weight and skinny face made me sad. Dad was sad as well.

On the last day, when dad mum in his arms I could hardly move a step. Dad said that mum looked lovely. Dad then insisted to give me a lift to school. He told me that he didn’t want the divorce anymore.He said he felt so sorry for what happened. His marriage life was boring probably because mum and dad didn’t value the details of our lives, not because they didn’t love each other anymore. He said he wanted to hold mum until death do us apart. Dad & I planned that we want to surprise mum. I suggested to dad to get 25 flowers (25 years of marriage). He also wrote » I’ll carry you out every morning until death do us apart. ».

That evening we arrived home early, flowers were in dad’s hands, a big smile on my face, we run up stairs, seeing mum was lying in the bed.I called her, she didn’t wake up. I touched her, she didn’t move. She died already. Mum had been fighting CANCER for months and dad was too busy with his girl to even notice. I was so busy doing my useless things. Mum knew that she would die soon and she wanted to save dad from negative thhinkings from their sons that dad wanted to divorce. Now it’s too late. Who cares?

If this happens to you, don’t let it be too late. 

Please share to your friends.

