Throwing rubbish everywhere is Khmer identity?

Crumpled waste paper in a bin which is full and overflowing on to the floor
Crumpled waste paper in a bin which is full and overflowing on to the floor

Before you go further through my text, I’d like to take you few seconds to apologize in advance for my words which may hurt your feeling. There is a lot of evidence that identity comes from a common sens or act which most people in the country do. Which means it matters for behaviour. This text presents a simple Khmer identity. No? Maybe

Yesterday I was driving on the street, the always-busy Norodom Blvd, heading to the Wat Langka park. I didn’t drive very fast, but I drove non-stop which means I got through the light-stop without even care the red light. Two barangs (foreigners) looked at me sharply. Did I care? Nope, not even a little bit! Then I stopped nearby and bought a bottle of Lactasoy milk (it was wrapped with 2 plastic bags. I finished it at the same time I arrived the park. Then, voilà, I embarrassedlessly threw my rubbish just infront of the indépendant monument. The same barangs were there. One of them came and picked up my rubbish for me; and the other asked me why did I do that! My replied with a big smile « because I am afraid to lose my Cambodian identity!« 

Laisser un commentaire

WordPress.com.

Retour en haut ↑